Kyle Area Youth Advisory Council (KAYAC)

City of Kyle Texas Official Website

The Kyle Area Youth Advisory Council (KAYAC) is a committee comprised of Kyle area high school students from ninth to twelfth grade.  KAYAC gives students the opportunity to hear City business items and then advise the Kyle City Council from their unique perspective.

Purpose of Creation

This Youth Council Committee has been created as a sixteen (16) member committee that consists of two Freshman, Sophomore, Junior and Senior class representatives from all comprehensive Hays CISD High Schools.  Each High School will select one "Primary" member and one "Secondary" member from each grade level.  This Youth Council Committee shall be known as the Kyle Area Youth Advisory Council (KAYAC).

KAYAC shall be advisory in nature and has been created for the purpose of providing a youthful point of view for the Kyle City Council on community affairs and issues.  This commission shall provide the opportunity for youth in the City of Kyle a formal role in the City's decision making process by hearing items and advising City Council on the youth perspective.

*For a printable version of the KAYAC Bylaws and Positions Description, please see attachments.

2015 Meeting Dates:

Currently all meetings will be held at City Hall starting at 6:30pm

Wednesday, January 21st Tuesday, March 24th
Wednesday, February 4th Wednesday, April 8th 
Wednesday, February 18th Wednesday, April 22nd
Wednesday, March 11th Wednesday, May 6th


Hays High School Members

Member Grade Position

Terrah Friesenhahn


Representative to Economic Development and Tourism Committee

Senior Primary

James Collins

Vice Chair

Representative to City Council


Senior Alternate

Robert Brown


Junior Primary

Jonathan Lopez


Junior Alternate

Hanna Malott


Sophomore Primary
Alex Moore Sophomore Alternate
Ryan Leal Freshman Primary
Vacant Freshman Alternate


Lehman High School Members

Members Grade Position

Neriah Sosa

Senior Primary
Supreme Hinton Senior Alternate

Andy Garza

Junior Primary
Melysa Alvarez Junior Alternate
Aidan O'Keefe Sophomore Primary
Lila Ramos Sophomore Alternate
Nathaniel Garcia Freshman Primary
Alexus Denen Freshman Alternate


City of Kyle Staff Liaison

Sarah Watson, CPSM

Recreation Programs Coordinator


swatson [at] cityofkyle [dot] com


City Council Representative

Todd Webster



mayorwebster [at] cityofkyle [dot] com