NOTE: "A person who holds a commercial driver's license (CDL), is not eligible to take a driving safety course to dismiss a charge, nor is the Court allowed, by law, to grant a deferred sentence." Also, if your charge is for a "Construction/Maintenance Zone Violation" (with workers present) you are NOT eligible to take a driving safety course or receive a deferred sentence. If you are charged with a traffic offense under the Subtitle C, Transportation Code, you may ask the judge before the appearance date on the citation, either orally or in writing, to take a driving safety course. If you were operating a motorcycle and request to take a driving safety course, you must take a motorcycle operator's training course. At the time of the request, you must do the following:
Present proof of financial responsibility (auto liability insurance);
Valid TX DL
Plead guilty or no contest; and
Pay court costs of $107.10, if not a speeding in a school zone violation or $132.10 if a speeding in a school zone without the presence of a crossing guard violation.
Prosecution of the traffic offense will be postponed for ninety (90) days from your appearance date to all you time to complete the course. You are required to attend a driving safety course that has been approved by the Texas Education Agency or a monocycle operator's course approved by the Department of Public Safety.
You are eligible to request this course IF you:
Have not taken a driving safety course for a traffic offense within the last
Are not currently taking the course for another traffic violation.
Have not committed to the offense of Speeding 25 mph over the posted speed limit; and
Have not committed any of the following offenses:
a. Failure to Give Information at Accident Scene;
b. Leaving Scene of Accident;
c. Fleeing or Attempting to Elude Police Officer;
d. Reckless Driving;
e. Passing School Bus; or
f. A serious traffic violation as defined under Chapter 522, Transportation Code, which applied to drivers with commercial driver's licenses.
Prior to the end of the ninety (90) day period, you must present to the court a copy of your driving record ordered from the Texas Department of Public Safety. You are required to submit proof of completion of course within ninety (90) days from your appearance date. If you do not, the court will send you a notice requiring you to return to the court and explain why you failed to show proof of completion. The judge MAY NOT grant you an extension. Your failure to be present at the hearing may result in a warrant for your arrest being issued.