## CITY OF KYLE



WHEREAS, Women Veterans Day is celebrated annually on the twelfth of June. The date was first recognized when the New York State Assembly declared June 12, 2008, to be Women Veterans Recognition Day, marking the 70<sup>th</sup> anniversary of the groundbreaking Women's Armed Services Integration Act, signed into law by President Harry S. Truman on June 12, 1948. That law enabled women to serve as permanent, regular members of the Army, Marine Corp, Navy, and Air Force; and

WHEREAS, the date is not recognized nationally, but is recognized by a few states, either through legislation or organizations or proclamations. The first Texas Women Veterans Day was held on June 12, 2018, when Texas Governor, Gregg Abbot, signed a bill designating June 12<sup>th</sup> as Texas Women Veterans Day. The stated goal of Women Veterans Day varies somewhat by state, but can generally be acknowledged as an effort to honor the work of women in the United States Armed Forces to recognize the unique challenges that they have faced; and

WHEREAS, While Women Veterans Day is currently only a state recognized commemoration, there is an effort to have the day recognized at a national level. U.S. Representative Mikie Sherrill of New Jersey introduced a resolution in both 2019 and 2020 to have June 12<sup>th</sup> officially recognized as "Women Veterans Appreciation Day". The purpose of the resolution is to address the disparities in care, recognition, and benefits that our women veterans receive and to highlight the growing presence of women in the Armed Forces; and pay respect to women veterans for their dutiful military service; and

**WHEREAS,** the City of Kyle, acknowledges the contributions women veterans bring through their service to our great nation.

**THEREFORE**, be it proclaimed by the City of Kyle, that June 12<sup>th</sup> should be celebrated as

"Texas Women Veterans Day" SIGNED AND ENTERED THIS 7th DAY OF June 2022. tchell Dex Effison, Council District 1 Travis Mi 12- Call Robert Rizo, Mayor Pro Tem, Council District 3 e Bradshaw, Council District 4 Daniela Parsley, Council District5 Michael Tobias, Council District 6